Breakfast / Grain-free/GAPS / Meat/fish/eggs / Oven/Stove / Vegetables

Asparagus Scrambled Eggs

Asparagus scramble - Love&GreenJuiceWe’re getting close to the first day of summer, but let’s not get ahead of ourselves – it’s still spring! I’ve always been a fall person, finding spring a little too wet and mucky for my liking. But after this long, cold, snowy, long, very long winter, I can imagine nothing sweeter.

The start of spring is marked by different things for different people: maybe for you it’s the melted snow trickling down the road, tiny buds on the trees, or people in shorts even though it’s only 5 degrees Celsius. Maybe it’s the open windows, renewed energy or excess-purging. Maybe it’s the longer days, the sound of birds returning from their winter away, or restaurant patios opening up. For me, it’s when fresh local asparagus can be found all over the farmer’s market and grocery store.

I didn’t grow up eating much asparagus, and I assumed I didn’t like it. How wrong I was! It’s a delightful vegetable, tall and beautiful, somehow crunchy and creamy at the same time. It’s the perfect side to just about any dinner menu, sautéed in a little butter and garlic, smothered in hollandaise sauce (as I learned while visiting my sister in Bavaria) or grilled on the BBQ. But it’s also a fabulous breakfast food!

I’ve been eating asparagus eggs – or as I’ve taken to calling them, scrambled spears – for breakfast for a couple weeks now, taking a break only between running out of asparagus and getting more. I was a little afraid that my excitement for asparagus would translate into tummy distress for Sweet Baby, but fortunately she hasn’t reacted to asparagus-tainted breast milk.

Shaved-bottom Asparagus - Love&GreenJuice

I’ve also discovered a new little trick this year. I used to cut off the bottom third of each spear because of the woody, stringy stem casing. Such a waste. Such a shame. Now I take out my handy dandy vegetable peeler and give the bottom half of each spear a little shave. Problem solved, waste averted, and meal enjoyed even more!

Scrambled Spears

1 tsp fat of choice*
1/4 large onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
6 spears of asparagus, trimmed and ends peeled, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 eggs
salt and pepper to taste
1 tsp sesame seeds to garnish (and boost the calcium content of the meal)

Instructions: Heat fat in skillet and sauté onion and garlic until onion is translucent. Add asparagus and cook until bright green. Push veggies to one side of the skillet and scramble eggs on the other side. Combine, season with salt and pepper and garnish with sesame seeds. Enjoy!

Scrambled Spears - Love&GreenJuice

*I’ve been using beef fat saved from making soup from my exciting farmer’s market find: bones from antibiotic-free, hormone-free cows

Leave a Reply

