Dinner / Grain-free/GAPS / Meat/fish/eggs / Oven/Stove

Simple (Paleo) Oven-baked Salmon Cakes

While I do have some favourite, complicated recipes, on the whole I’m drawn to simple meals that highlight the natural flavours of the ingredients. And as I’m trying to use up my kitchen remnants before moving, I also like recipes that are easily manipulated to suit what’s available.  In my freezer I found a small container of almond pulp, leftover from making almond milk, and a baggie of chopped green onion from the farmer’s market this spring. I happened to have 2 tins of wild salmon left in the pantry (I call it a pantry, but it’s actually a shoe rack. I really am going to miss this ramshackle kitchen!), so it seemed fish cakes were the order of the day!

Love & Green Juice - salmon

As an aside, salmon is one of those foods that I want to know more about. It’s so good for you, being full of omega 3 fatty acids. However, the farmed variety is often also full of mercury, PCBs and antibiotics. I’m also not comfortable with the environmental impact of salmon farms. But like I already said, fatty fish are so good for you, and salmon’s mild flavour makes it a delicious choice. For the time being, we opt for canned wild salmon and hope the benefits outweigh everything else.

Ok, back to the cakes. As far as I can tell, all you need for fish cakes are 4 things: fish, a grain or grain substitute, a binder & a flavor combination. So I used salmon, almond pulp, eggs and onions. But the possibilities are many. How about tuna, quinoa, flax eggs & cheese? Or whitefish, couscous, sweet potato & Moroccan spices? I could go on, but you get the picture.

salmon cakes baking tin - Love&GreenJuice

So fish cakes are simple to mix up, but the frying is a little tedious for me. If I have the choice, I prefer to let cooking happen without supervision. That’s why I’ve got recipes for roasted veggie dishes but no tempura! So I decided to stick the salmon mixture in muffin tins and voila – no supervision necessary!

I admit these babies aren’t as beautiful as their lovely pan-fried counterparts (especially the nice breaded ones), but they taste good. And they’re easy to make. And they got me one step closer to an empty freezer. And they travel well for lunch. All in all, it’s a big win.

Love & Green Juice - salmon cakes to go

Oven-baked Salmon Cakes

2 tins wild pink salmon (bones removed-I prefer not to have crunchy cakes)
1/4 cup almond pulp (or flour)
2 eggs
1/2 cup red and green onion, chopped
salt and pepper to taste
coconut oil to grease tins

Instructions: Preheat oven to 175C. Flake fish in a bowl, removing skin and bones if necessary and desired. Mix in almond pulp, eggs, onion and S&P.  Grease muffin tin and fill half full, gently pushing down the salmon mixture. Bake for about 20 minutes. Let cool slightly and remove. Enjoy!

salmon cakes

Leave a Reply

