Family / Health

We’ve come a long way, baby!

In life, sometimes it’s important to just step back and reflect. When trying to find a solution to a problem, stepping back lends perspective. When you’re about to explode at someone, stepping back allows the space to breathe and bite your tongue. When days are too short and to-do lists are too long, stepping back provides the chance to evaluate and prioritize.

But when things are going well, it can also be good to step back and reflect. Today I’m thinking about how far we’ve come as a family in the past year or so. An outsider might not notice much of a difference in our appearance. But we think differently and we’ve developed different habits, leading to a healthier lifestyle overall.

I firmly believe in compounding small changes. One sustained change this week. Next week, another. Yet another the next. And the result after one year can be astounding! Here are a few things which have been overheard in our household in the past couple of weeks, none of which I ever dreamed I’d hear:

***

One Saturday late morning: “Hey, Big Handsome. Do you want some homemade buffalo noodle soup for lunch?” (Larissa)

Buffalo Noodle Soup - Love&GreenJuice

Two months ago: “They sell buffalo?”

***

As the family was siting down to eat dinner: “Oh, just wait a second. I forgot my bowl of ferments!” (Larissa)

Bowl of Ferments - Love&GreenJuice

Three months ago: “I know it’s good for me, but I simply can’t get past the idea of ferments…let alone the taste!”

***

And it’s not just me. The whole family has changed their tunes!

***

Via Skype call from San Francisco, the second day of a 9-day trip: “I really miss green juice.” (Big Handsome)

Green Boys - Love&GreenJuice

One year ago: “I don’t mind the taste, but I find it psychologically distressing to drink this green sludge.”

***

Driving along the highway, on our way to the beach: “We should buy an industrial dehydrator so you can sell your creations – the kale chips and granola especially. And the crackers.” (Big Handsome)

Tomato Chips - Love&GreenJuice

One year ago: “What’s a dehydrator?”

***

Every day for the past 2 weeks, after finishing a bowl of grain-free dehydrator granola: “Mommy, are we have more granola?” (Little Handsome)

Granola Monster - Love&GreenJuice

Three months ago: “Mommy likes granola. Daddy and me like [Frosted Flakes] cereal with milk.”

***

Yup, we’ve come a long way, baby.

9 thoughts on “We’ve come a long way, baby!

  1. I LOVE these comments and can really relate. We take stock of these changes often as well.

    So glad we’re on this crazy journey together.

  2. Hi Larissa! Congratulations to you and your family on making these healthy changes! I know how thrilling it is to see family members make healthier eating choices – just the other night my SO not only ate but genuinely *enjoyed* a broccoli stir fry I made. I couldn’t believe it! This is the same person who months ago declared that all green vegetables “taste like garbage”. Now I just have to kick my processed cheese habit, then I’ll feel like we have a reasonably healthy household šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

