Blender / Greens / Smoothies

Tropical Green Juice

Tropical Green JuiceDo you ever wish, in the middle of winter, that you could be whisked away to the tropics? When I lived in Canada, I used to sometimes try to imagine myself on a beach somewhere warm in the middle of January. It rarely worked. But maybe if I had some tropical green juice, I’d have been able to complete the visualization.

There is something really good about eating what is seasonally available and local. I think our bodies are best equipped to deal with the food that grows in the same climates we are experiencing. But it can be a real treat to enjoy something from another climate and culture from time to time.  I think tropical green juice is one of these treats.

Our grocery store sells frozen packages of young coconut without sugar added, which is what I use in this juice recipe. But it’s also possible to buy a coconut, cut it open and scrape out the meat. If that’s too much work for you (as it is for me), using coconut milk in place of the water would do the trick as well. The coconut meat adds a creaminess to the smoothie that I particularly enjoy, though.

This is one of my favourite smoothies. I also really like this combination of banana/pineapple/coconut with bok choy.

Tropical Green Juice

1 ripe banana
1-2 rings pineapple
1/4 pkg. frozen young coconut (about 5 slices)
2 large handfuls baby spinach
1 c. water

Instructions: Combine all ingredients in blender and blend until smooth. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

