Fruit / Holidays / My favourite this week / Oven/Stove / Snack / Vegan

Spiced Rooibos Fig Compote

Dried Turkish FigsI’ll admit I have no idea what figgy pudding is. But once I heard “We Wish you a Merry Christmas”, I got a real craving for figs. Within minutes, it was decided that a fig dish would have to be made.

When I decide to make something, I usually read multiple recipes, get a feel for the dish, and then just go for it. It’s fun but it makes it hard to give credit to the inspiration of my creations. My biggest influence in creating this particular compote was probably this recipe. I took the basic idea, eliminated the sugar, increased the cardamom, and added dried apricots and rooibos tea.

I think the result was fabulous. It’s not much to look at, but what it lacks in visual appeal, it makes up for in flavour. The compote quickly became my favourite thing (this week). I’ve been eating it on crackers (both my dehydrator flax crackers and store-bought crisps), with or without a thin layer of cashew butter, but I actually prefer just to eat straight from the jar. Since no one else in my family cares to try it, their loss is my gain. The jar is almost done, which is good because I’m not sure how long it will last in the fridge anyway.

I love the subtle spices in this compote, and how each bite is just a little bit different from the last. It’s the perfect way to end a meal, but it would also make a great appetizer, or a fantastic complement to a meat dish. Or just do like me, and eat it off the spoon at any time of day!

All in all, it’s a great way to end a great year. Happy 2013, everyone.

Spiced Rooibos Fig Compote

fig compote spices1 tbsp ginger, finely chopped
1/4 tsp fennel seeds
seeds of 3 cardamom pods
1 cinnamon stick
1 bag rooibos tea
1 c. water
375 g dried figs, quartered
6-8 dried apricots, quartered
4 apples, diced

Instructions: Combine ginger, cardamom seeds, cinnamon, fennel seeds and tea bag with 1 cup of water in a medium saucepan. Bring to a low boil and reduce heat. Remove tea bag. Add figs, apricots and apples and simmer on low heat until fruit is tender and water is reduced (about 25 minutes). Remove cinnamon stick and serve warm or refrigerate. Enjoy!

fig compote cracker

6 thoughts on “Spiced Rooibos Fig Compote

  1. Your family won’t even try it?! Well I can vouch for how delicious it is as I was one of the lucky recipients of this lovely gift. I LOVE it! It’s sweet, but not too sweet. It’s multilayered in its flavours. It’s a perfect texture.

    I confess that while standing in front of the refrigerator this morning deciding what to have for breakfast, I grabbed a fork and ate a few bites right out of the jar. You didn’t list that in your possibilities for its uses. 🙂

    This really is a first class winner. Do NOT lose this recipe!

  2. Pingback: Christmas preparations and recipe roundup | Love & Green Juice

  3. Pingback: A new year, a new (soaked) muffin | Love & Green Juice

Leave a Reply

