Greens / Holidays / My favourite this week / Raw/Living Food / Salad

Christmas Kale Salad

Chard eatenThis time of year in Qatar is the beginning of the harvesting season. The local farms are starting to see ripe cucumbers, eggplant, peppers and radishes. It’s exciting!

Unfortunately, harvest season at my house may not come this year. My backyard garden has been infiltrated with a number of pesky visitors. All three varieties of swiss chard I planted have been completely devoured, along with the beets. Now these friends have started on the basil, spinach and even my precious kale.

I’m not ready to throw in the towel just yet, but it seems that despite my efforts, I may not get a decent harvest of kale this year.  It’s very sad.  There is a silver lining, however. I discovered recently, through the kindness of a friend, that it is possible to get kale delievered here. Big, beautiful heads of fresh kale. Unfortunately it leaves a much bigger carbon footprint than my garden kale would.

Little Handsome and Big KaleI’ve been enjoying this big, beautiful head of kale oh so much! I made kale chips for the first time (ok, to be honest, it took me two attempts – those things burn super easily!), which makes me finally understand what the fuss is all about.  It has also been showing up in all sorts of things from smoothies to stuffed peppers. For this kale-deprived desert dweller, it has been delightful.

Of all the things I’ve used kale for, my favourite so far has to be the massaged kale salad. It’s so easy to prepare and looks very festive. I’ve decided this is going to be my new go-to Christmas dinner side dish. I can’t imagine anyone not wanting to try the dish that looks like holly! Actually, why is this not already a festive dinner party staple? Pomegranates are in season right through the holiday season, and kale is a winter vegetable. It’s perfect!

I keep hoping that I’ll get ahead of the cabbage worms (I think that’s what’s doing the damage) and save the rest of my very own kale crop so there can be many more salads like this to come (and chips, and smoothies, and…)!

Massaged Kale & Pomegranate Salad

kale salad holly3-4 large leaves kale, tough stem removed, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 Tbsp. olive oil*
juice from 1/2 a lemon
about 4 shakes of the salt shaker
small handful pumpkin seeds
small handful pomegranate arils

Instructions: Pour olive oil, lemon juice and salt onto kale. Massage it until all leaves are coated and are starting to wilt. Add pumpkin seeds and pomegranate arils just before serving. Call it “Holly Salad” and bring it to your next Christmas party. Enjoy!

*I didn’t actually measure the oil. Add 1 Tbsp. and see if it works. Add more if the leaves aren’t wilting.

9 thoughts on “Christmas Kale Salad

  1. Thank you, Larissa! This salad looks gorgeous. I was just wondering what to take to my office dinner party on Thursday evening. And I have two lovely bunches of kale in the fridge and a pomegranate on the counter. Excellent!

  2. The salad looks wonderful. As a kid at my dads house we had a Pomegranate tree. During harvest our mother always made us put on white tee shirts to spend hours pick out the juicy seeds from the fruit. She made jelly with the juice. One night we heard this huge boom out side. But no one went out side to see what it was. I went out the next morning (I was about 13 years old) and the pomegranate tree had fall’en over. But it still gave us fruit up to the season my dad sold his house 1993. I am sure the tree is gone by now. 17 years it lasted after falling down..wow. Now that I am writing and remembering this..that was amazing.

    Again the salad look’s good. Thanks for sharing. Look forward to future post’s. 🙂

    Chef Randall
    savorthefood.wordpress.com

  3. Pingback: Christmas preparations and recipe roundup | Love & Green Juice

Leave a Reply

