Grains / Lunch / Recipes / Salad / Vegan

Surprising Rice & Grapefruit Salad

Who doesn’t love a good surprise?! Today I was pleasantly surprised by my lunch.

Grapefruit must be in season somewhere near here, because there were lots of them at the grocery store this week and they looked fresh. I really like grapefruit, but get intimidated by the work of cutting it up breakfast-style. When a special utensil is advised to eat something, I’m usually out.

So if I’m not going to eat it straight up, I thought I’d experiment a little and come up with a light lunch dish. And as you already know, the experiment was a success.

To cut the grapefruit, I peeled and sectioned it like I do with Little Handsome’s oranges, but it made a real mess. I think it’s time to watch some online tutorials to learn to cut citrus fruit like the pros because as long as there’s nice looking grapefruit in the stores, I’m going to be eating more salads like this one!

Brown Rice & Grapefruit Salad

1/4 cup brown rice, cooked
1 grapefruit, peeled and sectioned
1/2 palmful dried cranberries
1/2 palmful walnut pieces
small handful feldsalat

Instructions: Combine all ingredients. Enjoy! (note: I found the juice from the grapefruit to be dressing enough, but a light vinagrette would also work.)

Leave a Reply

