Food Processor / Legumes / Recipes / Snack / Vegan

Roasted Garlic White Bean Hummus

As much as I love chickpeas, my body tends to have trouble digesting them. A friend once suggested it was because of my Type O blood, and that may indeed be the case. Whatever the reason, I still eat chickpeas, but in smaller quantities than I would ideally like. And I rarely make hummus because no one in my family helps me eat it, and I have a hard time refraining from eating the whole batch. In one sitting. And later regretting it.

But since I now have white beans from my spontaneous purchase a few weeks back, I thought I’d give them a whirl in hummus.  But the only tahini I had on hand was Vegan Rawrr’s black tahini and I’m still getting used to its bite.

Hmmm…what to do.

A quick internet search brought me to this site which was the inspiration I needed*. And voila – about 45 minutes later, (it takes time to roast the garlic – the rest is done in 5 minutes max.), I had roasted garlic white bean hummus to enjoy all week long. And enjoy it I did – with cut vegetables and rice chapatis. Oh yes, especially with rice chapatis which are sold in the grocery store near our house, freshly baked, at a cost of about 12 cents each. They make hummus taste even better.

Roated Garlic White Bean Hummus

1 bulb garlic, roasted
olive oil to drizzle
1 cup white beans, soaked overnight and cooked**
juice of 1 lemon
1 Tbsp. olive oil
½ tsp. salt
water to blend
cumin to serve

Instructions: roast garlic by cutting the top off the bulb, drizzling oil over it, wrapping it in foil and baking it for about 40 minutes. Combine all ingredients in food processor or blender and process until desired consistency is reached. Sprinkle with cumin before serving with raw vegetables or pita bread. Enjoy!

*Yes, Betty Crocker helped me out with this recipe, but the real inspiration came from my friend who brought homemade tahini-free hummus (faux-mus) to the beach last weekend.

**I soaked and cooked 2 cups of beans earlier in the week: some for hummus, some for chili and some to freeze for next week or month.

8 thoughts on “Roasted Garlic White Bean Hummus

  1. Pingback: Quick and Delicious Lunch: Mushroom Spinach Wrap | Love & Green Juice

  2. Pingback: So … what the hell can you eat, anyway? | Change for a Year

  3. Oh I like the sound of this! We always have dried white beans in the pantry. This method of roasting garlic sounds delicious too.
    I look forward to trying this recipe.

  4. Pingback: A Scorcher = A Simple Meal « Made of Stars

  5. Pingback: Eggplant Chickpea Curry | Love & Green Juice

  6. Pingback: So … what the hell can you eat, anyway? – Change for a Year

Leave a Reply

