Breakfast / Legumes / Oven/Stove / Recipes / Vegan

Lentils for Breakfast? Yes, please.

I love breakfast. I also love lentils. But I never thougth to combine the two until I read this post by Hannah at Dispatches from the Gypsy Roller. What a great idea!

I adapted the recipe according to what I had in the kitchen (somehow we were out of red lentils!), and I added a few more orange things because I seem to have a real affinity for orange foods (remember this stew?).

Ok, so what was it like eating beans for breakfast? Fabulous! Not only was the lentil bowl delicious, but it was also filling, full of nutrition and made me feel all warm and cozy inside. Besides that, I feel like I’ve connected in some strange and miniscule way with other cultures in which breakfast beans are a regular occurance. Check out this article for pictures of (possibly authentic) breakfasts from around the world.

I cooked up the lentils at night and got 3 breakfasts out of the batch. It travels and reheats well, which is very important to me. Hannah recommends topping the lentil dish with cashews, brown sugar (if you like it a bit sweeter) and almond or soy milk. But I just ate it as is, and enjoyed every bite.

Sweet & Savoury Lentil Breakfast

1/2 cup split yellow lentils, soaked for 30 minutes (red lentils are better)
1 1/2 c. water
1 Tbsp. coconut butter
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. garam masala
1/4 tsp. allspice
pinch of salt
1 apple, peeled and grated
1 carrot, peeled and grated
1/4 cup raisins
6 dried apricots, chopped

Instructions: Combine in a saucepan: lentils, water, coconut butter, cinnamon, garam masala, allspice and salt. Bring to a gentle boil. Reduce heat to low and add grated apple, carrot, raisins and apricots. Cover partially and simmer until lentils are tender (about 25 min), stirring occasionally.

Inspired by this post at Dispatches from the Gypsy Roller.

11 thoughts on “Lentils for Breakfast? Yes, please.

  1. Very interesting. I love breakfasts I can take in the car with me. I could totally imagine myself eating lentil soup for breakfast (I prefer savoury breakfasts) but am having a hard time wrapping my head around sweet/lentil combo. I guess I’ll just have to try it.

    Also, I’m supposed to be working but I have just spent at least 10 minutes looking at the breakfasts from around the world.

    My all time favourite breakfast is beans and tortillas and all the other things on that Mexican plate. LOVE Mexican breakfast.

    • I wasn’t sure I’d like it either, but then again, I never thought I’d eat cold oatmeal! Or drink green smoothies. Or gluten-free anything! 🙂
      Actually, this dish is a lot like oatmeal, only packed with protein.
      Mmm…beans and tortillas…

    • Garam masala is a mix of Indian spices (corinader, cumin, ginger, cinnamon, pepper, cardamon, cloves, bayleaves, nutmeg). I think you can get it at just about any grocery store. Or experiment with other spices. I think a traditional pumpkin pie blend (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves) would taste good.

  2. Pingback: Grain-free Breakfasts | Love & Green Juice

  3. Pingback: Lentil Millet Butternut “Oatmeal” | Love & Green Juice

  4. Thanks for visiting my blog and leading me here. Great recipes. I just made a garam masala mixture for a cake and have some leftover which I want to use soon – fresh spice mixtures are always best when fresh, so will give this one a try.

Leave a Reply

