Raw/Living Food / Recipes / Salad / Vegan / Vegetables

Creamy Coleslaw

When I started to become interested in nutrition, I quickly learned about the many health benefits of cruciferous vegetables. Besides plenty of vitamins and minerals, broccoli, cauliflower, bok choy, brussels sprouts, kale and cabbage are now known to contain anti-cancer and anti-inflammatory properties.

Great, no problem. Bring on the broccoli & cauliflower. We love it! I also started to incorporate bok choy into smoothies and stir-fries. Brussels sprouts get added to the roasted vegetables. My kale is still growing, but I’ve got big plans for it. But cabbage…it’s a tough one for me. Unfortunately, my body seems to struggle a little when digesting cooked cabbage, and I’m not a huge fan of it raw. This really is a pity since at this time of year, the only regionally-grown cruciferous veg I can get are cauliflower and cabbage, with the rest of them being shipped in from Europe or the USA.

Once I discovered EWG’s Dirty Dozen/Clean 15 lists, I started looking at cabbage differently. Their research showed that cabbage had the 5th least amount of pesticides from the 49 fruits and veg sampled. That was enough to send me on a quest for a delicious coleslaw recipe.

We didn’t eat a lot of cabbage growing up. Most of the coleslaw I’ve eaten in my life has been from KFC. Ugh. So I wasn’t really sure what I was looking for in a recipe, but I was sure I didn’t want it to include mayo. Or excessive amounts of liquid.

After some searching and tweaking, I am pleased to announce that I have a coleslaw that I look forward to making and eating. In fact, I have a hard time passing by a beautiful head of cabbage in the grocery store now! The salad takes a bit of time to prepare because I grate the veg by hand. I do have a food processor but I like the feeling of accomplishment that comes with a bit of manual labour.

The dressing tastes fabulous and is full of healthy fats. All around, this is a winner.

Creamy Vegan Coleslaw

1/2 head green (or red) cabbage, grated
2 medium carrots, grated
1 c. cilantro leaves, chopped
2 Tbsp. onion, diced
1 gala apple, cut into chunks
1/4 c. raisins
1/4 c. pumpkin seeds

Dressing

1 avocado
juice of 1 lemon
2 Tbsp. olive oil
1 Tbsp. honey
salt & pepper to taste

Instructions: chop and combine cabbage, carrots, cilantro, onion and apple in a large bowl. Blend avocado, lemon juice, olive oil and honey until creamy. Toss it all together and mix to combine. Season with S&P. Add raisins and pumpkin seeds. Enjoy!

Inspired by this recipe from Garden of Eating.

5 thoughts on “Creamy Coleslaw

  1. I am so with you on the cabbage front. I do like it cooked but NEVER make it. I’ve always wondered if it was really worth very much nutritionally. Kind of like head lettuce..the kind that’s hardly green…what good is it? Anyhow, and raw cabbage. Ick. At the school canteen they grate it into a lettuce salad. This I can tolerate, most days. I have to say, I’m intrigued. I love the idea of the avocado dressing and…did I eat this salad at a party at Kathy and Jeff’s? I think I loved this.

    Where I’m not with you…? The satisfaction of manual labour when the food processor is sitting right there. Ya, I’m think I’m way too lazy for that.

    Thanks for the recipe.

    • Yes, you did (try this salad). And yes, you did (love it).
      I’m lazy too. Part of my enjoyment of grating is from the calming, zen-like motion. The other part is from knowing I don’t have to drag out the food processor and clean it afterwards.

  2. Lol we always have cabbage sitting in our fridge for ages before we use it – but I find a good way is to make it into sauerkraut so by the time it’s ready, I’m also ready to get to eating it lol! I love that you added raisins into the recipe, I love adding dried fruit ti savory dishes and putting it with the avacado is a great idea.

    • I have a friend who makes sourkraut. I’m totally intrigued, but have to work up just a bit more nerve yet.
      With the carrots, apples and honey, this salad is actually quite sweet. Pairs nicely with a savory or spicy dish.

Leave a Reply

