Dinner / Lunch / Oven/Stove / Recipes / Vegan / Vegetables

Everyday Roasted Vegetables

Our work week starts on Sunday, hence the work lunch post on a day that for most of my life I knew as a weekend day. As part of our committment to eating the best we can manage and afford, Big Hansome and I take our lunches to work. I love knowing that whatever is being served in the cafeteria, I have wholesome food waiting for me in my big pink lunchbag. But since I don’t really eat bread, it takes a little more imagination to make my lunch than Big Handsome’s, which is often comprised of a sandwich, granola bar, yogurt and fruit.

To save time, I’ve gotten into the habit of preparing my lunch while making dinner. It’s easy to cut carrots into sticks for lunch and coins for dinner at the same time, for example. But in my ever-continuing quest to simplify, I’ve come up with an even better way: everyday roasted veg.

Once a week I dig through the crisper and take out a bunch of vegetables – whatever floats my boat that day. I try to always have at least an eggplant, a tomato, some koosa (local zucchini) and sweet peppers in there. From time to time I’ll include more variety in the form of mushrooms, brussels sprouts, cauliflower, etc. This week I threw in some tofu cubes. These are tossed with onion, garlic, olive oil and dried herbs (ooh, or fresh basil now that I have it), put in the oven, and forgotten about until a lovely aroma begins to fill our home. The next morning, it takes 30 seconds to throw some of this in a jar on top of whatever leftover grain or starchy vegetable we have on hand, and there’s lunch, ready to go.

I’ve been doing this for about 3 weeks now and it does simplify the evening routine. And I’m not sick of roasted veg for lunch yet. Of course it helps that I’m not easily bored by foods I enjoy. So this works for me. At least for now.

Everyday Roasted Vegetables

6 cups of vegetables, cut into large chunks
1/2 onion, also cut into chunks
6-8 cloves of garlic, peeled and quartered
2 Tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper
herbs (dried or fresh)

Instructions: Combine vegetables (including onion and garlic) in a casserole dish. Toss with olive oil, S&P and herbs. Cover and roast at 180C for 30 minutes. Serve over a grain (e.g., brown rice), starch (e.g., sweet potatoes) or pasta (e.g., kamut spirals).

Note: To increase the protein content, top with canned or cooked beans such as garbanzos, and serve over quinoa.

7 thoughts on “Everyday Roasted Vegetables

  1. Pingback: Creamy Coleslaw | Love & Green Juice

  2. Pingback: Roasted Tomato Pesto | Love & Green Juice

  3. Pingback: Eggplant Chickpea Curry | Love & Green Juice

  4. Pingback: Bone Broth (& roasted vegetable soup) | Love & Green Juice

  5. Pingback: Simple Oven-baked Salmon Cakes | Love & Green Juice

Leave a Reply

