Family / Food Processor / Garden / Raw/Living Food / Recipes / Vegan / Vegetables

Overzealous Planting and Raw Marinara Sauce

I know almost nothing about gardening. I would love to take a course or read some books on the subject, but I’m not sure where I’d find the time.  My method so far has been to put the seeds in the soil and trust that they know what to do. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. The lovely kitchen sprouts are all but dead. They didn’t work. But the boxes Little Handsome and I planted a couple of weeks ago are showing plenty of signs of life. In fact, they’re growing a little too well. Unsure of how many seeds to use and how far to space them, and keeping in mind the patience of my little helper, I decided on the sprinkle and cover method. It has proven not to be the best option. The basil box was so full of little blossoming basil plants that I couldn’t see any soil. As I’ve said, I know almost nothing about gardening, but I doubt any of those plants could thrive in such conditions. But since I’m so good an unintentionally killing green things, it breaks my heart to intentionally pull any of them out. So the compromise: pluck some basil sprouts and make a raw marinara sauce!

I had tried to make a raw marinara sauce one night by blending tomatoes, dried herbs and maybe some onion. It was underwhelming. Then a friend shared the Hypocrates Health Institute’s marinara recipe that uses red peppers as the main ingredient. I tried it, and really liked it. While this sauce would be great on spaghetti squash or spiralized vegetable noodles, I usually just mix it in with a little leftover quinoa or brown rice for a quick and easy (and nutritious) lunch. Or sometimes I’ll turn it into a tasty spread (think mayo substitute) on a sandwich or wrap. Someday I’ll make a raw pizza, and I think the sauce will be the star of the show.

Raw Marinara Sauce

2 red bell peppers
1/4 brown onion
1/2 clove garlic, grated
handful fresh basil leaves
1 T olive oil
1/2 tsp. lemon juice
1 date
1/2 tsp. coconut aminos (or shoyu)

Instructions: blend ingredients in a blender or food processor until combined. Adjust consistency by adding water or flaxmeal/psyllium husk powder. Enjoy!

Inspired by a recipe in Healthful Cuisine.

Notes:

  1. Raw garlic and onions are very strong in flavour, but very healthful. Some experimentation with ratios of mild/strong and pungent/sweet flavours might be necessary with this one.  But hey, if you like garlic, you’ll like this post of shared recipes for alotonyrouplate’s ingredient of the month: garlic!
  2. I know it’s not very pretty to look at, but don’t let the strange yellow/brown colour turn you off.  Having said that, this wouldn’t be somthing I’d serve at a dinner party. Unless it was a raw dinner party, because those folks are used to weirdly coloured foods.
  3. This sauce is best served immediately as it tends to separate the longer it sits. It can simply be mixed back up, but I thought you should be warned.
7 thoughts on “Overzealous Planting and Raw Marinara Sauce

  1. Pingback: Everyday Roasted Vegetables | Love & Green Juice

  2. Pingback: Ingredient Of The Month: Garlic

  3. Pingback: Roasted Tomato Pesto | Love & Green Juice

  4. Pingback: Kale got bugs? Make Beet Green Chips | Love & Green Juice

Leave a Reply

