Breakfast / Grains / My favourite this week / Recipes / Vegan

My favourite thing (this week): Coconut Cream Oatmeal

I have always loved breakfast foods. Especially baked ones, made with white flour. Muffin, pancake, toast, streudle: all these words sound like delicious comfort to me.

So last year when I eliminated gluten from my diet, I didn’t know quite what I was going to do for breakfast. Eggs seemed the obvious choice, but I was also avoiding eggs at that time. Consequently, I decided to give oatmeal a go.

Except for the year I lived in Saskatchewan and ate sugar-laden instant oatmeal packs to keep myself full and warm, I can’t really remember ever making oatmeal. In fact, while I have been known to enjoy some cold cereal from time to time (especially if it has dried fruit in it), I’ve never been crazy about porridge of any kind.

Getting used to oatmeal took some time. I found it incredibly tasteless. Adding fresh fruit and cinnammon helped a bit. But it wasn’t until I decided to cook the oats in coconut milk instead of water that I started to see the long-term potential of large flake oats as a breakfast food.

It’s funny for me to think back on those days. Now I look forward to my bowl or jar of oats. And I love porridge in so many combinations, temperatures, and consistencies. But that’s another post.

My friend has started making and selling raw nut butters, and they have brought oatmeal to a whole new level. This morning I discovered my new favourite thing this week (I have to add that last part because I expect -and hope- to find a new favourite thing next week!).

Coconut Cream Oatmeal

1/2 c large flake oats
boiling water to cover
1 Tbsp. coconut butter
1 tsp. almond butter
1/2 banana, sliced

Cover oats with water and let sit for approximately 3 minutes. Add coconut and almond butters. Mix in if desired. Top with fresh banana slices. Sit in a sunny place and enjoy every bite!

3 thoughts on “My favourite thing (this week): Coconut Cream Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Grain-free Breakfasts | Love & Green Juice

Leave a Reply

